Question by  Dita (28)

How old do you have to be to get an abortion without parental consent in the state of Texas?

I need to get an abortion and live in Texas, what is the age limit law.


Answer by  bovineovine (112)

Children under the age of 18 must get a parents consent in order to have an abortion, however there is something called Jane's Due Process. This is something that is implemented to help a minor bypass the legal consent requirement of a minor


Answer by  salina (943)

A minor does not need permission to have an abortion in Texas. However, parents my be tolf 48 hours after the procedure is done unless the have a court order. If you are emancipated or a married minor you do not need permission from your parents. You can check with your local Planned Parenthood.


Answer by  sanityrose (2664)

In the state of Texas anyone under the age of 18 must have the legal signed consent of at least one parent to legally receive an abortion. Otherwise, unless a child is emancipated from their parents they will have to have a extenuating circumstance (life threatening) to receive the abortion with their own free will.


Answer by  Erynn (1651)

Most states require at least one parent to consent to a minor having an abortion. Texas is one of them - without parental involvement, one must be 18 to get an abortion in Texas. The good news is only one parent needs to consent.


Answer by  TheAnswerFairy (2345)

According to Texas law, abortion providers must notify the parents of anyone under 18 at least 2 days before an abortion is to be performed. The only nearby state that does not require parental consent is New Mexico.


Answer by  jrod (206)

You have to be 18 years old to have an abortion without your parent's consent,if you can't tell them that you are pregnant you can ask a judge for permission and get a judicial bypass. There is a 24 hour mandatory waiting period before a teen can get an abortion.


Answer by  Roger70 (107)

From September 2005, teenagers under 18 need written consent from one of their parents or legal guardians prior to an abortion being performed in Texas. After this age, you can consent on your own behalf. You can only obtain an abortion up to 24 weeks.


Answer by  Audrey86 (261)

If you are under eighteen, you do not need to obtain parental permission. You do, however, have to inform them 48 hours before the procedure.


Answer by  Anonymous

you need to be 18+ to have an abortion without parental permission her ein the uk

You have 50 words left!