Question by  Toastopia (22)

What are the stages tadpoles go through to become frogs?

I'm doing a science project.


Answer by  goldybar (37)

Frogs begin life as an egg that has been laid in water that is calm and safe. After one to three weeks, the egg will hatch and a tadpole emerges. As it develops, the tadpole first loses its gills and, at 6-9 weeks, begins to grow legs. Eventually the frog will lose its tail and be fully developed.


Answer by  SashaDarkCloud (5764)

Well, the first stage is really the egg. Then, the tadpole gets out of the egg and eats what is left of the yolk. After 4 weeks, the gills a tadpole has become skin and have teeth. 9 weeks, they develop legs and the body elongates and the head forms. At 12 weeks it becomes a froglet with stubby tail.


Answer by  MelindaS (1694)

First, the tadpole will grow legs. Then, after about 9 weeks, the front legs emerge, and at around 12 weeks it is a froglet. Eventually the tail disappears.

You have 50 words left!