Question by  sunil100 (14)

Should you avoid glucosamine if you have a shellfish allergy?


Answer by  Milette4 (900)

Most Glucosamine is derived from shellfish. So if you are allergic to shellfish, rather avoid using Glucosamine products and ask your doctor for an alternative that does not contain it.


Answer by  Erie (103)

Traditional glucosamine supplements should be avoided. These supplements are often made from the shells of lobsters, shrimps, or crabs. Not enough research has been conducted to conclude that it is entirely safe for those with shellfish allergy to injest. It would be wiser to use a vegetarian glucosamine supplement to be safe.

You have 50 words left!