Question by  Grace91 (17)

Can you eat rice during Passover?


Answer by  Clement (1453)

The Ashkenazi and the Sephardic Jews differ on this point. While rice (and also corn, beans, peas, lentils, peanuts, mustard, sesame seeds and poppy seeds) isn't forbidden it looks similar to the forbidden grains, and the Ashkenazi Jews do not eat it during the Passover.


Answer by  lisandroc (9)

During Passover, only certain foods defined by the Jewish tradition and law can be eaten. Ashkenazic Jews, or Jews from Central and Western Europe, cannot eat rice because it can be considered a flour (rice flour). Sephardi Jews, however, are allowed to because rice was considered a staple food at the time and they didn't find the ban practical.


Answer by  mying (54)

Israelite festival on the 14 day of the month (about 1st April). According to the Bible no foreigner shall eat the passover meal, and the meal must not be taken outside the house and the bone of the animals must not be broken. No restriction is their written in the Bible to eat rice. (exodus 12:43 to 51)


Answer by  nuttree (1596)

The dietary rules for Passover differ for Ashkenazic and Sephardic Jews. All Jews are barred from eating the "five grains" -- wheat, oats, barley, rye and spelt -- but Ashkenazim also avoid "Kitniyot," or "small things", including corn, rice, lentils and some other seeds and beans.


Answer by  arthy (99)

In th feast we may eat rice but in the time of fasting we cannot eat rice but we may drink juices and the liquid food only but in the feast we may eat all type of food

You have 50 words left!