Question by  Centrifugal (69)

What states have no income tax?

California has massive state taxes and I am considering to move.


Answer by  jclick (1561)

Alaska, Florida, Nevada, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, and Wyoming have no state income tax. Most of these states have much higher sales tax rates, however.


Answer by  calcutta (168)

Currently, there are seven U. S. states that do not impose any state income taxes: Alaska, Florida, Nevada, South Dakota, Texas, Washington, and Wyoming. Keep in mind that income tax is not the only type of tax that governments impose. For example, Oregon has income tax but no sales tax!

Reply by Krabi (112):
Washington has no state income tax, but it is certainly not the best state for businesses... Washington imposes a Business and Occupation Tax (B&O) on gross receipts. Yes, gross receipts, and it averages around 1.5%. That means you pay this tax, even if your business loses money!  add a comment

Answer by  DulceDeLeche (219)

The states with no state income tax whatsoever are: Florida, S. Dakota, Alaska, Texas, Washington, Wyoming and Nevada. Two states, New Hampshire and Tennessee, only assess income tax on interest and dividends.


Answer by  DouglasEarlClore (1236)

These seven states have no income tax: Wyoming, Texas, Washington, Florida, Alaska, South Dakota, and Alaska. Remember to keep in mind that state revenue comes from somewhere, and some of the states with no income tax may have high sales tax (Washington's is 8. 45%), or high property taxes.


Answer by  tuppyqueen (311)

There are nine states in which do not have income tax. Alaska, Florida, Nevada, South Dakota, Texas, Washington and Wyoming, New Hampshire and Tennessee. However New Hampshire and Tennesee tax their residents only on income earned thru interest and dividends. However just because they don't have income tax doesn't necessarily mean its cheaper to live there

You have 50 words left!