Question by  worker10 (27)

What is a double hit in tennis? Is it legal?


Answer by  CarlSCansino (464)

A double hit is not considered legal in tennis. This is where you strike the ball more than once before your opponent hits it back. An exception to the double hit rule is if the ball is hit by the racket in more than one place, but your swing stroke was one continuous motion. Then it is permitted.


Answer by  rakattakpat (70)

a double hit is when the racket makes contact with the ball more than once, and no it is not legal.


Answer by  rhickok1109 (233)

A double hit occurs when the racket hits the ball twice during a single stroke. This used to be illegal, but it was legalized during the 1970s. However, taking two swings at the ball is illegal, even if one of the swings misses.

You have 50 words left!