Question by  Bhat (37)

What are the types of glaucoma?

My mother has been diagnosed with glaucoma.


Answer by  boblack (22)

There are five types of glaucoma: primary open angle, angle closure, normal tension, secondary, and pediatric. They all involve and increase in eye pressure except normal tension glaucoma and the clogging of the drainage system in the eye. The most common type is Primary open angle which slowly develops over time.


Answer by  mhmmegan (165)

Primary Open Angle, Angle Closure, Normal Tension, Secondary, and Pediatric glaucoma are the five types of glaucoma. Primary Open Angle is the most common type, which is slowly developed.


Answer by  hellopiper (324)

There are many types of glaucoma, all of which are related to an elevation of pressure inside the eye. The most common is primary open-angle glaucoma (PAOG), which usually has no symptoms but can cause damage leading to partial or complete vision loss. Another common type is angle-closure glaucoma, which is normally hereditary and can affect vision acutely.


Answer by  Moma123 (1043)

Glaucoma is divided into two main categories - "open angle" and "closed angle" glaucoma. Open angle glaucoma is the most common one. It is painless and results in gradually progressive visual field loss. Closed angle glaucoma appear suddenly, resulting in occular pain and loss of vision, which progress very quickly.


Answer by  KingStumps (12)

They are two types of glaucoma: primary open angle glaucome also known as POAG, and angle closure glaucome, or ACG.

You have 50 words left!