Question by  murker (11)

What are the seven books missing from the Protestant Bible?

I'm looking for information on the gnostic scriptures, and would like a list of the books that the authorities removed from the Bible.


Answer by  KRobinson (96)

The books not officially recognized by the Protestant church include as complete books are Tobit, Judith, 1 Maccabees, 2 Maccabees, Wisdom (of Solomon), Sirach, and Baruch. These books are included in a listing called the appocrypha which the Prostant church doesnt recognize because of certain "styles" in how they are presented and their correlation with the rest of the Bible.


Answer by  JB28 (285)

The seven books that Protestant tradition does not retain are 1st and 2nd Maccabees, Baruch, Tobit, Judith, The Wisdom of Solomon, and Sirach. These books were part of a Greek translation of the Bible known as the Septuagint.

You have 50 words left!