Question by  Mutkoski (26)

Is there gluten in cornmeal?


Answer by  sapphire51 (1048)

There are some brands of cornmeal that contain gluten, just as there are some breads that contain gluten. If you perfer gluten-free cornmeal, look at the ingredients that are listed on the product before you purchase it. Gluten is actually considered to be a necessary ingredient in foods, providing you are not allergic to it.


Answer by  bl834 (1317)

Generally there isn't gluten in cornmeal, but if it is processed in a plant that also processes wheat products there may be traces detectable.


Answer by  cece46 (222)

Not all cornmeal is gluten-free. Some types of cornmeal contain amounts of gluten. If you are on a gluten-free diet, it is strongly advised that you only purchase products labeled as "gluten-free". Many companies that produce and package cornmeal sell gluten-free versions of cornmeal both in grocery stores and on the internet.


Answer by  mattj (76)

While most cornmeal is gluten free, some brands contain gluten or are processed with other gluten-containing products. Bob's Red Mill cornmeal is one brand that is gluten free. There are many other gluten free brands, you just have to read the labels carefully.


Answer by  LeheckaG (1826)

Gluten (proteins: gliadin & glutenin) normally exists in starchy-endosperms of grass-grains: barley, rye, & wheat. Cornmeal (not labeled as "Gluten-free") might have a gluten-additive, or unintentionally mixed-in during milling/processing.


Answer by  pinedemon (12)

No, there is no gluten in cornmeal. But if it is processed in a certain way there may be traces of gluten in it. There are also companies that add gluten to increase taste.


Answer by  jeremy46 (325)

No, unlike wheat flour, corn meal has no gluten, this is why gluten-free pasta is often made from corn meal.


Answer by  myanna (104)

No, there is usually no gluten in cornmeal. Cornmeal products, however, like cornbread and corn muffins are usually made with a mixture of a cornmeal and wheat flour. Wheat flour often (though not always) contains gluten, so someone on a gluten-free diet does not have a free pass to eat most cornbread, cornmeal pancakes, etc. Cornmeal mush is probably safe.


Answer by  Worksforme (467)

That really depends if flour was added to the mixture. This is normally found in your grass type grains. That would include rye, wheat and barley. So ground corn by its self would not have it.


Answer by  jaclark586 (359)

There is typically no gluten in cornmeal, however you should always read the ingredients to check. There is often gluten in corn bread which you may think of as derived from cornmeal not flour. If you are looking for cornmeal for the purpose of making corn bread I recommend a pre-packaged corn bread mix like Bob's Red Mill.


Answer by  Baobao (1273)

Yes,it also contains albumin, zein and globulin.If possible you can have more cornmeals from time to time since they are very good for your health.

You have 50 words left!