Question by  scoyne88 (161)

Can a vegetarian diet include seafood?


Answer by  LAS41 (88)

There are varying levels of vegetarianism. The strictest, vegan, eats no meat or animal byproducts like milk, eggs and cheese. Some vegetarians eat no meat, but eat eggs and the like. People who eat no meat except seafood are only loosely considered vegetarians. Some people who eat everything except red meat consider themselves vegetarians, but that's not really accurate.


Answer by  Cathie (670)

Yes, it can. There are a few different types of vegetarians and some of them do eat seafood as well as eggs and dairy, they just stay away from meat.


Answer by  jen37 (1135)

It's only a label created to try to categorize people. The traditional lacto-ovo-vegetarian doesn't eat meat or fish, but will eat dairy and eggs. But what you eat should be what you are comfortable with. You can help bring back the term pescatarian, that is, one who refrains from eating meat, but eats fish... like me :) vegan except for fish.

You have 50 words left!