- Short Answers


Question by  abc (19)

What are the different moons of mars?


Answer by  LauraLS (195)

Mars has two moons: Phobos and Deimos. They are both small, dark, irregularly shaped, and thought to have been captured from the asteroid belt.


Answer by  willard (874)

Mars has two moons, Phobos and Deimos, named for the roman gods of Fear and Panic. Neither of the moons is very big, nor even round. Astronomers believe that Phobos and Deimos were not formed at the same time Mars formed, but are instead asteroids that wandered into Mars' orbit and were captured.


Answer by  marcos80 (8)

Mars has two moons: Phobos, and Deimos. Most likely, they are asteroids that were captured by Mars' gravity when they crossed the planet's orbit.


Answer by  Doomstoned (1454)

The planet Mars has two rather small moons in orbit, named Deimos and Phobos respectively, both of which were discovered in 1877 by the American astronomer Asaph Hall. However, speculation as to their existence did exist prior to their discovery. In Greek mythology, Deimos and Phobos are the sons of Ares, the god of war, who join him in battle.

You have 50 words left!