Question by  Zach54 (19)

What are the 613 Jewish laws?

I need to understand 613 Jewish laws.


Answer by  jlaird (190)

The 613 mitzvot contain both negative and affirmative laws that bind Jews. Non-Jews are bound by the Noachide laws. The laws are spelled out in Leviticus and Deuteronomy. They cover a variety of issues including marriage, dietary laws, prayer, business practices, judicial procedures, agriculture, idolatry, god, Torah, and sacrifices.


Answer by  altos (224)

About 1/3 of the 613 commandments, also known as the 613 mitzvot (the plural of mitzvah), are not in effect today because there is no current temple. Once the temple is re-erected they will be applicable again.


Answer by  tamarawilhite (17883)

The 613 Jewish laws are those in Leviticus. It includes what foods are kosher (allowed) and not allowed, such as shell fish and pork. It includes not mixing meat with milk products. It discusses not mixing plant fiber with animal fiber in clothes. It also discusses ritual purity rules.

Reply by notorious (249):
Many of the 613 laws come from Deuteronomy too.  add a comment

Answer by  dudz (84)

613 Jewish laws includes the biblical laws imposed by Halakha or the collective body of Jewish religious law. it has been developed over the past two thousand years.

You have 50 words left!