Question by  shakey (21)

What are the car repossession laws in South Carolina?


Answer by  Trueakitalover (1728)

You must receive a right to cure which is a 20 day notice in South Carolina. After that your car can be picked up regardless of how many days past due you are, but you get 10 days after repo to pay off loan and get it back into your possession.


Answer by  patti (29325)

You can find the law with regard to the lender as well as the individual signed on the sale contract online. Google "repo south carolina."


Answer by  patti (29325)

A "right to cure" letter is sent to the owner of the vehicle. If the payments are not brought up-to-date, the vehicle can be repossessed after 21 days "as long as it is peaceful. " A number of websites details state repo laws in plain English.


Answer by  surveymom25 (69)

In South Carolina the loan must first default; 10 days after due date. The lender must send notice of default to debitor and allow 20 days to bring loan current. If not paid after the 20 day notice the lender has a right to repossess the car.


Answer by  hubmanhowie (18)

The creditor does not need a court judgment before they repossess your car. However they should supply you with some form of notification of your rights and obligations before they repossess the vehicle.


Answer by  ilikesmirf (147)

The repossession agent can take a vehicle as long as there is no breach of peace. The repossession can only be performed as long as it can be done peacefully. It can be performed 20 days after a right to cure letter is sent. All security interest must be shown on the title by the lien holder.


Answer by  tbirdlangley (0)

If it is a second repossession, does a right to cure letter need to be sent?

You have 50 words left!