Question by  Tom27 (16)

Can a king take a king in chess?

I am just learning how to play chess.


Answer by  kf4vkp (295)

No, because a king can only move one square at a time, the king can not take the other king because to move within one square of the other king places your king in check. Since the rules do not allow you to place yourself in check, this move is not legal.


Answer by  Kurt (4579)

A king cannot capture another king. Kings cannot be captured at all. If they are under attack where the next move would capture them, they are in check and the check must be dealt with by moving the king, capturing the attacker, or imposing a piece in the line of attack.


Answer by  LuxFlowz (69)

It is against the rules of chess for a king to take a king. A king can not even be within one square next to the opposing king. Technically, no piece can capture the king. The idea of chess is to trap the opposing king so it can't make a move. That is called checkmate.

Reply by MrAustinFtw (7):
Actually, if you trap the opposing king so it can't make a move, it's in stalemate (Draw). If you trap it so it can't make a move out of check, it's checkmate.  add a comment

Answer by  Anonymous

No. But every piece except the other king is takeable


Answer by  aurynbearer (110)

It is not possible. The very movement rules prevent it, since a king can only move one square at a time and can never commit "suicide". So it can never get close enough to take - or be taken by - another king.


Answer by  Anonymous

no because kings tend not to fight, they sit in there throne and get their soldiers in their army to do all the fighting. ps i just wanted to see if vsnvrmnlkbvinkkgrdtsna\fmlazmfcamfcmc,,lkonv counts as one word and it does lol

You have 50 words left!